Last visit was: Mon Oct 23, 2017 12:51 pm It is currently Mon Oct 23, 2017 12:51 pm

All times are UTC+01:00




 [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Aug 08, 2016 7:34 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 07, 2009 5:44 pm
Posts: 606
Current ride: Xb12r
Location: Corby
Hi all, seem to have an electrical problem on my firebolt. I've not experienced whilst riding the bike, as the MoT ran out a last month.

1st time I noticed it was while running it in the garage, I squeezed between the bike and the trike and brushed around the front right indicator, and the bike cut out. It restarted fine, but cut out when I brushed past again. Started it again and started playing with the bunch of wires around by the front right indicator, and found that jiggling the wires the bike would cut out, the speedo and rev counter would do their sweep as if the ignition had just been turned on, and then would restart fine. Theres a couple of joints in the wires there where the immobiliser was fitted and has now been removed, but I checked these and they seem fine.

Didn't have time to check anything else so had to leave it, and it was a few weeks before I got back out there. The next time I went out to have a look and start it, I turned the ignition on, everything lit up as normal and the speedo/rev did their usual sweep, flicked the kill switch to on and the injectors primed, pressed the starter button and nothing happened. Took a few minutes of fiddling around with the wires as before, and it started to turn over, and then fired up. This time wiggling the wires again and it didn't cut out?!

There doesn't seem to be much consistency to the problem, if it was just the wire for the starter button, surely it wouldn't make it cut out while running?

Anyone got any ideas on where to start or is it just a case of remove what I can from the front end and try feeling along the wires for any breaks? Typically my wife told me this morning she's booked it in for an MoT Thursday morning so I've got to try and sort it out quick.

And as a side note, how do you mark out where the beam pattern needs to be, I had to remove the headlights earlier in the year, and I'm not sure the main beam is now set right.

Thanks.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Mon Aug 08, 2016 9:43 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2012 5:48 pm
Posts: 1173
Current ride: X1, guzzi 8V,MT350
Location: yorks/lancs border
Check wires around headstock, with a multimeter if poss. They may appear intact on the insulation
but there could be a break on the wire strands

_________________
Buell X1, Guzzi 1200 sport, HD MT 350


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 10, 2016 7:01 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 07, 2009 5:44 pm
Posts: 606
Current ride: Xb12r
Location: Corby
I've got a multimeter, but it's only a really cheap 1 and I've never been able to get the continuity setting to work. Haven't had time to even start looking for the problem as I'm on night shifts this week, so will have to phone up and cancel the MoT in the morning.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 10, 2016 8:29 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2012 5:48 pm
Posts: 1173
Current ride: X1, guzzi 8V,MT350
Location: yorks/lancs border
They aren't dear to buy and can be used for other things when you've done.

_________________
Buell X1, Guzzi 1200 sport, HD MT 350


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 10, 2016 8:46 pm 
Offline
proff. patpending
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 8:20 pm
Posts: 14108
Current ride: Victoria Sponge
Location: Bristol - Gateway to all things good
If the one he has is the one I gave him it's good enough to do most things...

_________________
08 Specialized Langster


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Sat Aug 13, 2016 11:25 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 07, 2009 5:44 pm
Posts: 606
Current ride: Xb12r
Location: Corby
jiltedjohn wrote:
They aren't dear to buy and can be used for other things when you've done.


It's the 2nd cheap 1 I've bought, the 1st the wires on the probes went a bit dodgy after a few months, giving dodgy readings, depending on how you were holding the probes. This 2nd one seems ok but no idea about getting the continuity bit to work. Probably something simple I'm doing wrong.


pash wrote:
If the one he has is the one I gave him it's good enough to do most things...


You gave me one? Don't suppose you know how long ago? Might still be in dads garage, so will have a check next time I'm down. 5 years since I moved up here and I still can't find half my tools and stuff.


Top
   
 
 [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited