It is currently 20 Apr 2024 13:02

All times are UTC+01:00

PostPosted: 02 Dec 2015 22:39 

Current ride: BUELL 1190RX
Hi,

Im new to this forum, so apologies if posting in the wrong place.

I am looking for some technical advice. I have a 1190RS, mainly use for track racing.

Im looking to build a small off-road trailer. Im a fabricator by trade. I therefore have no problem building the chassis, but looking for advice on wheels for off-road. I do not want to go to the expense of vehicle wheels (due to cost), but want to get some basic off-road wheels.

Anybody had a similar project? also interested in whether wheel bearings would be needed.

I can find quite a lot on the web, particularly agricultural wheels, but no technical info.

If anybody has guidance or recommended suppliers for vehicles.

Thank you
Ben

PostPosted: 02 Dec 2015 22:48 

Get the rear axle off a FWD van like a Renault Traffic. They unbolt really easily, cheap as chips from a scrappy, and you don't have to frig about with those horrible rubber block hubs that you see folk with on Motorways with nothing but wheelbarrow wheels fitted :shock: - often carring a valuable motorbike :o

PostPosted: 03 Dec 2015 20:27 

Current ride: S1W,S2T,1125CR
You can't just turn up on here asking questions like this when the real story is that you have an 1190RS for the track and an 1190RX for the road 8-) Go on, Ben, tell us about your EBRs :worthy:

Steve

PostPosted: 04 Dec 2015 02:14 

Current ride: Buell ulysses
ursus americanus wrote:
You can't just turn up on here asking questions like this when the real story is that you have an 1190RS for the track and an 1190RX for the road 8-) Go on, Ben, tell us about your EBRs :worthy:

Steve

:yt:
and a bit of a clue as to what this "small off-road trailer" is to be used for ?
Carrying stuff around the farm, small holding
How small is small , some peoples small could be other people’s big ?

PostPosted: 04 Dec 2015 18:15 
barney wrote:
ursus americanus wrote:

Steve